Hear the once and future Elvis on Viva Elvis: The Album – now available

Viva Elvis: The Album arrives in stores today. The release features twelve main tracks, with remixes designed to make Elvis sound as if he were recording today.

1. Opening: Also Sprach Zarathustra (instrumental)
2. Blue Suede Shoes
3. That’s All Right
4. Heartbreak Hotel
5. Love Me Tender
6. King Creole
7. Bossa Nova Baby
8. Burning Love
9. Memories (instrumental)
10. Can’t Help Falling In Love
11. You’ll Never Walk Alone (instrumental)
12. Suspicious Minds

Some versions of this album include one of several bonus tracks, with Elvis singing a “duet” with a present-day performer.

2 thoughts on “Hear the once and future Elvis on Viva Elvis: The Album – now available

  1. I was hesitant to buy this album but found it to be way better than anticipated. Heartbreak Hotel was overcooked (they tried to hard) and got itself lost in the middle but found it’s footing towards the end and for me “CHFIL” although nice was not great, kinda lost its way i felt.

    A stand out for me was “King Creole” with the “Gumbo” and “Crawfish” songs mixed in. I enjoyed “In My Way” tagged on the end of “Love Me Tender” and also other bits in “Burning Love” and the Reggae of ” Bossa Nova Baby” of course “minds” was great also.

    Overall, Great Listening, loved it, i give it a B+ , this coming from a Elvis purist.

    “Viva Elvis” is a stand out among many a poor effort.




    • Thanks for posting your review, Ray. It is interesting to hear the perspective of a purist.

      I’m definitely not a purist, as my opinion on modernization (whether we’re talking Elvis, Star Trek, or anything else) is do what you want as long as you keep the originals available and treat the material with respect.

      I’ll have to listen to it a few more times to know for sure, but I’m currently of the mindset that “Can’t Help Falling In Love” is probably the weakest track on a fantastic album.


Comments are closed.