Elvis Back In Richmond: Forty-Eight Hours To Memphis now available

Forty-Eight Hours To Memphis: Recorded Live On Stage In Richmond, Virginia – March 18, 1974, the latest Elvis Presley release from Sony’s Follow That Dream collectors label, hit the United States on November 1.

Ernst Mikael Jørgensen & Roger Semon produced the CD, which captures Elvis’ fourteenth appearance in Richmond—his third at the Richmond Coliseum.

The Richmond show has received a new mastering by Vic Anesini. Though presented in mono from a tape copy, apparently the concert was professionally recorded and mixed in multi-track.

According to Robert Frieser’s liner notes, the original multi-track recording is either missing or erased. Speculation is that it was a backup for the album Elvis Recorded Live On Stage In Memphis, which took place two days later at the Mid-South Coliseum.

The March 18 Richmond Coliseum concert was only six days after his March 12 appearance there. After visiting other cities, the tour swung back through Richmond due to a rapid sell out of the earlier show.

Richmond references
Track 04 at 0:02: Elvis says, “It’s a pleasure to be back here in Hampton Roads, uh, Richmond! Just kidding, just kidding.”
Track 15 at 2:23: Elvis says, “I’d like to thank the John Marshall hotel, where everybody’s staying, for taking care of us over there.”
Track 21 at 0:00: Elvis says, “You’re a fantastic audience, you really are. Until the next time here in Richmond, I’d like to wish you an affectionate adiós.”

As with other releases on Sony’s FTD collectors label for Elvis fans, the only physical store in the US authorized to sell the CD is Good Rockin’ Tonight, a Graceland gift shop in Memphis. However, the CD may be obtained online from a variety of other Elvis stores, including Graceland’s ShopElvis.com.

The CD comes in an oversized, 7-inch digipack that includes a 16-page booklet with photographs from the show. It marks the first official release of a Richmond Elvis concert.

Forty-Eight Hours To Memphis (2011)

Forty-Eight Hours To Memphis (2011)

Forty-Eight Hours To Memphis

Live At The Richmond Coliseum, March 18, 1974
01) Also Sprach Zarathustra/
02) See See Rider
03) I Got A Woman/Amen [edited with Memphis, March 20, 1974]
04) Love Me
05) Tryin’ To Get To You
06) All Shook Up
07) Steamroller Blues
08) Teddy Bear/Don’t Be Cruel
09) Love Me Tender
10) Long Tall Sally/Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On/Your Mama Don’t Dance/Flip, Flop & Fly/Jailhouse Rock/Hound Dog
11) Fever
12) Polk Salad Annie
13) Why Me
14) Suspicious Minds
15) Introductions By Elvis
16) I Can’t Stop Loving You
17) Help Me
18) An American Trilogy
19) Let Me Be There
20) Funny How Time Slips Away
21) Can’t Help Falling In Love/
22) Closing Vamp

Bonus Songs
23) Sweet Caroline [Tulsa, March 1, 1974]
24) Johnny B. Goode [Memphis, March 17, 1974]
25) That’s All Right [Memphis, March 17, 1974]

7 thoughts on “Elvis Back In Richmond: Forty-Eight Hours To Memphis now available

  1. Interesting how the two shows in Richmond differ. This show is much closer to the format used in Memphis although the inclusion of Mystery Train and Tiger Man in the first Richmond show means that the two shows together resemble quiet closely the Memphis show. As if he has drawn elements from the two Richmond shows to make the Memphis show work, which, of course, it does. Odd also to see Sweet Caroline make a surprising appearance in 1974. I have never liked this song nor Neil Diamond so am not sure what Tulsa did to deserve it.


    • The booklet is well designed and contains eleven photos of Elvis on stage at the Richmond Coliseum and a few miscellaneous pictures. There is a “day by day” look at the March 1974 tour, including both of his Richmond shows. The March 18 Richmond show notes include excerpts from a Richmond News Leader review. The Richmond photos in the booklet are black & white, but many of them are full-sized and clear. For the most part, he looked good during the Richmond shows.

      Robert Frieser, who had the tape copy of this show in his possession, provides the liner notes – which do a nice job describing the excitement of this particular show. The one funny little quirk about the packaging (also well-designed and including five color images of Elvis at the Richmond Coliseum) is that the “Musicians With Elvis” listing ends with “and” – leaving out the Joe Guercio Orchestra. For a full review of Forty-Eight Hours To Memphis, see From Sweden To Richmond/From Richmond To Sweden: A Little More Conversation. Thanks for commenting, Harrie, and welcome aboard The Mystery Train.


  2. My compliments for your great blog.
    from the time of announcement, I have followed your website, and you’re doing a great job.
    With great pleasure I have read your reviews, and thanks you for that .

    Robert Frieser


    • Robert, thanks for the nice comments. More importantly, though, thank you for your part in bringing this Richmond concert out to a larger audience as an official release. You should be very proud of Forty-Eight Hours To Memphis.

      I know I’m happy to finally have this CD. I’ve listened to it just about every day for more than two weeks now.


Comments are closed.