By Any Other Name

A couple of weeks ago, I told you about the forthcoming Follow That Dream Records release White Knight In Vegas. FTD, which is Sony’s collectors label for Elvis fans, announced yesterday that the CD has been retitled to Live In Vegas: August 26, 1969 Dinner Show. Content is the same as previously reported. The February 15 release date is apparently unaffected, though I would not be surprised if there turns out to be a slight delay.

One of the best music blogs around is The Second Disc, which I visit daily. It focuses on catalog releases across a full spectrum of genres. Though I am not likely to create a blog devoted to anyone else, my music tastes go far beyond Elvis, and I always find something of interest there.

The Second Disc also does a good job of covering Elvis’ Sony releases. I was glad to see earlier this week that FTD is now on their radar as well, with a story about the then-titled White Knight In Vegas release.

It’s always good to see Elvis releases covered on sites that are not specifically about him. For other artists, I find out about and purchase many releases I would not otherwise know about due to The Second Disc, and the same may hold true for more casual Elvis listeners who visit that site.

Does every FTD release warrant such exposure? No, but Live In Vegas certainly does, as well as titles in the FTD Classic Album series, which features reissues of original albums with tons of outtakes.

Last month, FTD completed its Classic Album coverage of the November 1957 Jailhouse Rock Extended Play album with the two-disc Jailhouse Rock, Volume 2. Between the two volumes, this means that FTD devoted four CDs to what was originally a five-song EP. Now, that’s what I call a collectors label!

FTD’s next Classic Album entry has not yet been announced, but I’m hoping for coverage of the January 1975 LP album Promised Land (recorded in 1973).

The FTD label began in 1999 and has released nearly 100 titles so far, more albums in eleven years than Elvis released during his entire twenty-three year career. FTD releases are available from and other online Elvis retailers. Since they originate in Denmark and then ship to retailers, there is usually a two or three week delay after the “release date” before the CDs arrive for those of us in the United States – though that delay seems to be less lately. FTD releases are usually worth the wait.

Coming Soon: White Knight In Vegas (August 26, 1969, DS)

Follow That Dream Records will release in February White Knight In Vegas, a new CD containing Elvis’ August 26, 1969, Dinner Show (“New FTD Releases” — FTD is Sony’s collectors label for Elvis fans.

Track Listing
01 Blue Suede Shoes*
02 I Got A Woman*
03 All Shook Up*
04 Love Me Tender*
05 Jailhouse Rock/Don’t Be Cruel*
06 Heartbreak Hotel*
07 Hound Dog*
08 Memories*
09 My Babe (previously released: Elvis Aron Presley)
10 Mystery Train/Tiger Man*
11 Monologue*
12 Baby, What You Want Me To Do*
13 Runaway*
14 Inherit The Wind (Collectors Gold)
15 Yesterday/Hey Jude*
16 Introductions*
17 In The Ghetto*
18 Suspicious Minds (Elvis In Person)
19 Can’t Help Falling In Love (Elvis In Person)

* = previously unreleased

Since five full shows from this same engagement have been officially before, some sad and disappointed fans in various places are already whining things like, “If you’ve heard one of these shows, you’ve heard ’em all” and indicating that White Knight is hardly an essential release.


White Knight will actually mark the first full release of a show that contributed songs to the original Elvis In Person (From Memphis To Vegas/From Vegas To Memphis) live compilation album. Plus, the songs “My Babe” and “Inherit The Wind” have never been featured on any full show release before.

The 1969 Vegas season represents Elvis at the top of his game. Whether first, sixth, or fifty-seventh, every 1969 (and 1970, for that matter) show is essential upon release from the vaults. How many of them do I want? All of them. (And I’m not a “buy every concert no matter what” collector, either. These shows are special.)

Also coming in February is a vinyl version of the recent How Great Thou Art classic albums release.

FTD releases are available from and other online Elvis retailers.

* * *

Additional Sources